Faith In Humanity; One Southsiders response to the refugee crisis

FB_20150921_23_06_58_Saved_Picture

We spoke to Jennifer Cranie about her efforts to help and send aid to refugees. So Jennifer what is your aim?

Our Mission;

Provide vital aid supplies across Europe, the Middle East and beyond. Co-ordinate UK aid going overseas to stop items not needed taking up vital time, space & energy by compiling a list of individuals and groups ‘on the ground’ helping distribute aid. Encourage language skills & enducation of those who need by providing the relevant translation materials, books, etc. Provide better conditions and care in camps. We have a full plans for this (just need the people ‘at the top’ to listen to the plans & get them going).

Get out and give hands on help overseas and at home to all in need. We also have plans for here in Glasgow for anyone in need which includes food banks, clothing banks and much more!

We have fully planned out everything, just need the funds to get them started!

Our fundraising;

Via our website – www.faithinhumanityuk.org

Charity gigs – we have 3 popular venues already agreed to be our hosts whenever we need (each can hold 120 guests), currently searching for artists to feature.

Holding stalls at any events that we can.

Family fun days.

Fundraising nights – race nights, discos, etc

Charity football tournament- arranged for 28th of November in GOALS shawlands, looking for 20 5-a-side teams, trophy’s, face-painter, bouncy castle and items for stalls to be donated.

Sponsors – currently have a sponsored campaign called #WalkingInTheirShoes (donate via website). We are looking for at least 10 sponsors to advertise on our website &/or provide items that are needed for our packages.

We are looking into charity store/s as well as an option as well as other things.

Helpers;Currently I am a one woman mission but anyone who wants to help can come to Faith In Humanity’s base in Battlefield, Glasgow to help out Mon-Fri 10am-2pm.

Anyone willing to hold fundraisers for us are also welcome to do so (as long as they contact us before hand to let us know…)

We do all of this with a 100% donation policy which means everything that is given to us (be that items or money) provides for those in need.

Anyone who wants to get involved in any way can get in touch via email;

info@faithinhumanityuk.org

social media links;

Twitter-

@FIH_Charity

Facebook-

https://m.facebook.com/JennifersCharityJourney?ref=bookmarks

So tell us a bit about yourself and why you decided to take action?

My name is Jenn, I am a stay at home mummy of 4 and as you will see I’m not much of a writer. I prefer staying in the background, organising and in general getting stuck into things!

In the beginning I wanted to help in Calais (which Faith In Humanity will still be doing). It became apparent in my research that Calais was being flooded with support and rather chaotic. I also came to realise it is the same in most places the refugees are arriving. So I started planning…

I am in no way ‘dissing’ the awesome people actually out there helping. I am however speaking to ‘the powers at the top’ and big ‘charities’ when I say “WHY AREN’T YOU LISTENING? I have plans, they will save lives and make sure people are safe, if only you would respond to my countless correspondance!”

Anyway, sorry about that little rant there…

I am often asked why I do this and I only have this to say…I do this because of my children and I cannot imagine going through what these people have to endure, what if it was us?

Surely EVERYONE can see that this can happen to any of US, at any time…wouldn’t WE all seek safety and want our basic HUMAN rights met?

I’m 100% sure the answer everyone would give me is YES!

To offer time, donations or help please see the links above.

If you would like your community group, activity or business to have a feature article please get in touch with Lisa at lisacraigphoto@googlemail.com tel; 07903152283.

For those interested I also have an independent blog if you wish to check it out;

https://lisahelencraig.wordpress.com/

and my photo website;

http://www.lisahelencraig.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

